top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrennan Kimura

Noir


“quiet country side

, such as peas growing around bamboo stakes in private gardens, and hens kept in enclosed wire netting”

pg. 65 this immerses the reader within the setting of the story putting the world in the perspective of the narrator


“I was free at last, when the double cherry blossoms had all lost fallen and in their place misty green leaves had begun to grow. It was the beginning of summer. I enjoyed my freedom like a little”

pg55

this is shows the narrators arduous symbolized by the water’s journey through rivers canyons and creeks finally running out to the ocean


I had my mother write to my sister. I though that this would probably be the last time we would be writing them about my father’s health.

Letter writing is prevalent throughout the novel. This shows the time period it was presented but also expresses isolation as there is distance between members of the family.


“I could not study either. The printed characters that my eyes saw disappeared like rising smoke before they reached my mind”

This made the narrator relatable as I can identify with that experience hence the picture of my japanese text book



I thought about the diploma lying on the desk and though it seemed to have some significance as a kind of symbol, of the beginning of a new life, I could not help feeling the it was a meaningless scrap of paper too.

pg. 69


“I learned to ask Sensei’s wife to refill my bowl without the slightest hesitation or embarrassment”

illustrates the culture and origins within this story as this is normal in Japanese culture



“Sensei’s had again become weary of the world because of her. But again, she could find no way of confirming her suspicions.” pg.40

This picture illustrates a setting sun. This foreshadows the death of Sensei. he is unable to seek help because of his secretive manner. In that way his fate is sealed. He will die as sure as the sun will set.



“The sea stretched wide and blue all around us and there seemed to be no one near us.”

This pictures is actually of sand. This is because this is the loose foundation of where there relationship orginiates. In addition to be void of people as again to communicate the ongoing idea of isolation


“I saw him wading through the same noisy crowd and then win out alone, I was suddenly overcome with the desire to follow him.” pg 5. This picture illustrates Sensei’s view. he does not see the crowd. They are irrelevant as his core belief is he is alone.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Joiking

In the videos I had observed there was no words or clear language. It was simply raw emotion that the artist had been able to convey through their vocals. Emotions such as passion, joy and sadness wer

10 Smells

1. fresh cut grass. reminds me of summer because my summer job/chore had been to cut grass in the yard 2. Wetsuit smell. Its a rubbery, salty musky smell. Makes me feel seasick because majority of sea

Slide Deck

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/10XbCrXpuDg_qKvz1sQEHcz4qLdysEHVyxg123U991OY

©2019 by Brennan Kimura. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page